Guest Reviews

Reviewed: Dec 13, 2013
Property
Located between the NOC and Bryson City, this cabin is quaint and convenient. We had a very nice stay and the layout is perfect for two couples or a family with kids. We would go back
View Property: zMountain Pearl Cabin
Reviewed: Dec 13, 2013
Property
This was our second stay at Sunrise above the Clouds and it was wonderful - again! The kitchen has everything needed to prepare meals, but if eating out sounds better downtown is only a short drive. We especially love the downstairs area - nice quite get away if a midday nap is needed. Only thing I would change about downstairs - a mini frig and coffee maker. This would prevent early risers from waking the late sleepers. We love the soaking in the hot tub and looking out over the clouds at the mountains. Thanks for letting your home be our home!
View Property: zSunrise Above The Clouds
Reviewed: Dec 13, 2013
Property
My husband and I had a much needed break at Shady Grove. We are in love with this quaint, secluded cabin! My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer. We definitely want to stay again! Michelle and Joel Sigman
View Property: Shady Grove
Reviewed: Dec 13, 2013
Property
The cabin was everything and more, a true luxury in the woods! Well supplied with cooking essentials, comfortable furniture, beautiful view! Internet access good, limited cell phone access though. Mother nature brought us a bear to watch one night so be sure to secure your garbage outside..they are pretty smart animals! A welcome surprise for us. The only inconvenience is that the entry gate was on the fritz and needed to be repaired during our stay and I was given the wrong lockbox code to the cabin and with limited cell service and daylight buring was a bit troubling but forgot all about it once in the cabin! We are adventure seekers so mountain biking, hiking, ziplinng and whitewater rafting are all close by! Many pamphlets in the cabin if you did not plan ahead, we got there the final week before season closing so plan accordingly. It also was important to us to come home to a hot tub and a comfortable place to relax after an action packed day. We also took a day to enjoy and shop in near by towns. Bottomline, I would stay here again. Do listen and follow instructions provided, arriving the first day during daylight hours was extremely helpful advice even if all went as planned!
View Property: Z-Ridge Runner Retreat
Reviewed: Dec 13, 2013
Property
I have rented this house twice. Once with my children in the summer and again with two other couples in October. Both times were perfect. The kitchen is beautiful and has everything that we needed. The house is located in a gated community with beautiful homes throughout. This was a surprise to me and gave me comfort in safety. The house is an easy drive to Bryson City and Cherokee. The only negative that I could possibly say is the driveway to the house is very steep and I would not want to attempt the drive in the snow. I will definitely rent this house again ... Soon.
View Property: zCherokee Timber Lodge
Reviewed: Dec 13, 2013
Property
Great location and a beautiful cabin. Everything was as described with no surprises. We plan to rent the same cabin again in august of 2014. Driveway was extreme!
View Property: Wengen Chalet
Reviewed: Dec 13, 2013
Property
Our family really enjoyed our stay. Very clean and plenty of things to do in the area. This will be a regular fall get away!
View Property: Paradise Valley Lodge
Reviewed: Dec 13, 2013
Property
We had a real good time. The next time we will stay longer. My wife and kids liked that each child got their own bedroom. We loved the furniture and we will be back.
View Property: zCozy Cabin
Reviewed: Dec 13, 2013
Property
My family and I had a wonderful Thanksgiving celebration here and riding the Polar Express. It was so relaxing and quiet. We enjoyed staying here and spending much needed quality time.
View Property: Laurel Branch
Reviewed: Dec 13, 2013
Property
This cabin was everything and more, a true luxury in the woods! Well supplied with cooking essentials, comfortable furniture, beautiful view! Internet access good, limited cell access though. Mother nature brought us a bear to watch one night so be sure to secure the garbage outside...they are pretty smart animals! A welcome surprise for us. We are adventure seekers so mountain biking, hiking, zip lining and white water rafting are all close by Many pamphlets in the cabin if you did not plan ahead. We got there the final week before season closing so plan accordingly. It also was important to us to come home to a hot tub and a comfortable place to relax after an action packed day. We also took a day to enjoy and shop in near by towns. Bottom line, I would stay here again. Do listen and follow instructions provided, arriving the first day during daylight hours was extremely helpful advise even if all went as planned!
View Property: Ridge Runner Retreat
Charlotte, US
Reviewed: Dec 12, 2013
Property Manager
The follow up call once I arrived at the cabin was a great personal touch!
Property
The directions were a little tough to follow leading to the cabin.
View Property: Owls Roost Cabin
raleigh, US
Reviewed: Dec 11, 2013
Clayton, US
Reviewed: Dec 10, 2013
Property Manager
Great Customer Service. I referred a neighbor and they have also had a great experience.
Property
Beautiful Cabin. We loved every room and all the wonderful details. The views were amazing. I would love to come back to this cabin again.
View Property: Owls Roost Cabin
Reviewed: Dec 9, 2013
Property
What a cabin! Amazing in every way,easy to get to,amazing views comfortable, clean and very relaxing! Great Smoky Cabin Rentals, you have a winner in this cabin,pet friendly,King (comfy) Bed, Leather Furniture, Easy to get in and out of, close to our beloved Bryson City. Love it!
View Property: Peace Of The Mountain
pontotoc, US
Reviewed: Dec 8, 2013
Property Manager
Property
was NOT prepared for the goat paths leading up to the cabin !! (wish we had been forewarned) And did not have the presence of mind to alter cooking recipes on the high altitude.will know next time !! Manager Response - 12/11/13: Thank you for your feedback, Anne. We appreciate your time in reviewing Smoke Rise Cabin. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. While the roads up to the cabin are probably steeper and more windy than you are used to in MS, the roads are easily accessible with a regular car. The roads are paved and much better than other roads in this area. On all of our directions regardless of their elevation we include the following advice: IMPORTANT NOTE: If you are not used to driving mountain roads, you will find this to be a new experience. Be sure to put your car in a lower gear going up and down the mountain and do not stop while climbing. As far as cooking in the mountains goes, the altitude may add a few minutes to the cooking time. Even without the elevation, cooking with a different range and oven and using different cookware can impact cook times as well. Please keep us in mind for your future vacations -- you can use the code from the survey to book online and receive the repeat guest discount off any of our cabins, or call to receive the discount. Happy Holidays!
View Property: zSmoke Rise Cabin
Greenville , US
Reviewed: Dec 5, 2013
Property Manager
While looking for a property which would accommodate our group, GSCR was most knowledgeable about their cabins and helpful in assisting us with our needs.
Property
Were very pleased with the property itself and the close proximity to Bryson City.
View Property: Whispering Woods Cabin
Reviewed: Dec 5, 2013
Property
Amazing house! Amazing view! Amazing time spent at "Above the Trees"! Can't wait to go back!!
View Property: zAbove The Trees
Reviewed: Dec 5, 2013
Property
Our family of 6 adults, and 3 grandchildren totally enjoyed our stay in one of the most beautiful homes we have ever seen. My oldest grandson asked if we were staying in a mansion? I told him that this home is the closest thing to it... we could not of asked for anything better with a home that was decorated beautifully, very comfortable furniture, a lot of space for the kids and a wrap around porch to enjoy the sunsets, views, and seeing the mountains smoke. 'thank you for allowing us to use your home so we can celebrate my oldest daughters 40th Birthday. what a treat. My whole family would highly recommend to vacation in this beautiful home. we thank the family who owns Bruins den. You should be very proud to own such a great place. we had a treat with the neighbors dog, Jake...he is so gentle and saved my dog from danger in the woods.
View Property: Bruins Den
Lafayette, US
Reviewed: Dec 4, 2013
Property Manager
Wonderful trip
Property
Perfect
View Property: Big Oaks Pointe
Raleigh, US
Reviewed: Dec 4, 2013
Property Manager
Not only was the Wolf Ridge cabin perfect, but the staff was was also. They even called Thanksgiving day to make sure we were ok during our travels. My family will definatly be staying with Great Smokey Cabin Rentals again.
Property
The cabin was beautiful. My family and I loved the scenic porch views and the open floor lay out.
View Property: Wolf Ridge
Reviewed: Dec 2, 2013
Property
The cabin was wonderful, very nicely done, with fantastic view off the front porch. It was like visiting one of your friends whose house always looks just right, and extremely clean. Everything worked (which is not always the case) and easy to use. It's on the NC side of the park, a few minutes from Bryson City, and much quieter than Gatlinburg and the TN side. The only downside is the road up is a bit of a hill and it took concentration in 2 (front) wheel drive vehicle. It is difficult to find at night so I'd recommend to call ahead and have someone walk you through the written directions (seems like you're driving through someone else's backyard).
View Property: The Hilltop
Reviewed: Dec 2, 2013
Property
This home had everything. From breathtaking views (pictures simply don't do it justice)to the hot tub (our favorite), to comfortable beds, a well stocked kitchen, very clean and well kept, along with many extra amenities that help make it a vacation to remember. Though we were all adult travelers, there were many amenities in the home and activities in the area for those with children also. Personally, we enjoyed time at Harrah's, and the cabin is close to Bryson City so picking up necessities or grabbing a bite to eat was easy. (The road the cabin is on might be considered a little rough at first but it's only for a short ways and was easily doable in a standard car.) Between the accommodations, and Great Smokys Cabin Rental who was very helpful and responsive throughout the rental process, I can honestly say that this was the best vacation we've had in years. So much so that we decided to extend our stay an extra day, and would have stayed even longer had it been possible.
View Property: Peace Of The Mountain
Bradenton, US
Reviewed: Dec 1, 2013
Property Manager
Excellent service. I did not get a busy signal nor answering service. Staff was very courteous and helpful.
Property
We had an great stay at your cabin. It was far above our expectations and an excellent value.
View Property: Native Winds Cabin
Reviewed: Dec 1, 2013
Property
First and foremost I would like to start by saying thank you for allowing us to be a part of something so beautiful. This was our 1 year anniversary and well worth remembering. A cabin all my husbands idea and I love him so much. I`ve never been close to a mountain or a cabin so I was pretty optimistic about the whole thing, but as I said before it`s well worth every penny. It was relaxing and beautiful and again thank you.
View Property: Moosehead Lodge
Reviewed: Dec 1, 2013
Property
My husband and I are here celebrating our 5 year anniversary. He surprised me by arranging every detail of this weekend without me knowing. We started with an amazing lunch at Cork & Bean before arriving here. When we made our way up the mountain & unto the cabin I was squealing like a little girl. I am a professional photographer & couldn`t wait for shots of the sunrise (which turned out beautiful) We had an amazing dinner at Frymont Inn next to the fire place out first evening. On Saturday, hubby surprised me with an open air train ride and lunch. So much fun. We enjoyed the hot tub under the stars and a nice warm fire in the cool evening. It was an amazing weekend in a beautiful cabin. I hate to see it already come to an end. Hope to be back next year.
View Property: Moosehead Lodge